When you ingest cow’s milk your body reacts in a negative way. The symptoms are wide ranging and include bloating, eczema, constipation, diarrhoea, kidney stones, tonsillitis, asthma and even anxiety amongst many more.
Lactose is the sugar found in milk and milk products such as yoghurt, ice cream, cream and chocolate.
Casein is the protein in milk and whey which cause trouble for people who cannot digest it properly, it is thought to be addictive to those who are intolerant.
if you have a cows milk intolerance, you should avoid cows milk and cows milk products, lactose, lactic acid, buttermilk, whey, sour cream, synthetic cream, casein, curds, butters, some margarine and ice cream.
Foods that may contain dairy include:
Cake, cake mix, baking powder, chocolate, soup, salad dressing, pesto, sauces
Some alternatives are:
Soya milk, rice milk, almond milks, oat milks, coconut milks, goats milk, sheeps milk, tofu, carob,
Cheese is made from fat and protein and over the fermenting process the caseins are changed and should be easier to digest. Lactose converts to lactic acid and should be tolerable.
Soft cheese is not, including brie, camembert, Philadelphia and other cheese spreads.
My children are casein intolerant and use goat’s milk as an alternative and their friends cannot taste the difference! The casein and lactose molecules are smaller than cow and therefore easier to digest.
You may prefer to try rice, coconut, almond, hazelnut or oat milk. Soya milk is an alternative for occasional use as it can interfere with hormones and thyroid.
You will likely to be able to withstand butter and hard cheese. Butter is mainly made from the fat of the cow’s milk and water. If you like soft cheese, feta from sheep or goat, Roquefort from sheep’s milk and buffalo mozzarella, not cow’s milk mozzarella. Pizza Express can provide buffalo if you ask for it.
Remember to check medication and supplements for lactose. Lacto free products come from cows but with an added enzyme and caseins which cannot be easily digested.